Eclipses and Strong Winds

  
The first time that I saw you
Sitting on your father’s lawn

A heavy breeze swept us into 

A love that lasted till dawn

I remember whispering lifetimes to you by the river under the willows

When I glance back to that day the light escapes my chest and just billows

Maybe it was mostly just magic on the wind for a little while

But it’s my only romantic memory that turns frowning lips to a smile

Other ones I recall, no matter what I feed them they bite my hand

They scratch and dig, threaten the soil on which I stand

But this March wind blows; here come the eclipses rolling in

And all I can see is a flash of what healthy love could feel like again.
Love,

Leah R Chatterjee 

Leave a Reply

