Wishing Well

I have spent so many years believing in “too good to be true”

Threw my last coin in the wishing well, and finally got a goodbye from you

I never really let go of anyone, I stuff them into dark corners of my brain

Every now and then a painful prick reminds me of who remains

I threw my last coin in the wishing well, knowing I didn’t stand a chance

But I woke up this morning to your letter, an abrupt change in circumstance

Somehow in all of my day dreaming, star gazing, rainbow making

I missed the toll that keeping you hostage in my heart was taking

And though it ripped a little in my solar plexus, I know now it will repair

And when I search for you inside myself I know you won’t be there

Threw my very last coin into that wishing well, took a chance on “too good to be true”

I received the strangest gift today, and really let go of you.

Leah R Chatterjee

2 thoughts on “Wishing Well

Leave a Reply

