Solstice

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5b9/14941687/files/2014/12/img_8208.jpg
Walking through the winter
Winding through this small town’s unlit streets
Feeling frost forming underfoot
Craning my neck to see the giant dome of stars
I can spot one bursting in a brilliant death
Almost every time I look
Wandering through this winter
A child of water
A woman of the moon
The solstice came with the sun
Suspended for a moment
And now, even as my breath forms small clouds in front of my face,
I feel the daylight growing stronger
Feel the sun in the sky a little longer
Walking through the winter
Invisible each night
Magic follows my frosty footsteps from behind.

Leah Chatterjee

Leave a Reply

