There never was a simpler time

Indian ink spots on the blue carpet
Spilled by a friend (I took the blame)
I loved her at sixteen

Scratches on the round table
Made with a protractor
When I was twelve

Ugly pink and green spots
Marker on my rocking horse
Artistic endeavor when I was seven

The word “sex” written under
Three boxes of tea sets
A secret I kept since I was five

The blue carpet and the round table
Have been long since left behind
But the rocking horse and the tea sets
They are here, still marked
Still mine.

Leah R. Chatterjee

Leave a Reply

