Another one for Beth

Every now and then
You come back to me
On a gentle breeze
In the haze of a dream
A whisper in the air
I can feel you there
In the sun in the glare
Some days I see you everywhere

Every now and then
You return to me
Through a thinning veil
In a cloud’s soft trail
In moments where I fail
To bottle up what’s there
And my grief sets sail

Every now and then
You come back to me
In lines of poetry
In the moon pulling on the sea
In every melody
I hear you sing to me

Every now and then
You return to me
Answer my aching plea
Try to comfort me
Try to help me see
You’re with me endlessly

Every now and then
You come back to me
I can feel you there
Heavy on the air
Bright like a warning flare
Sometimes I see you everywhere

Every now and then
I can hear your voice singing
Hear your last choice ringing
Feel the light you’re bringing
See you in the pattern on the beads I’m stringing
Feel the sadness stinging

Every now and then
I want to understand why
I let my feelings fly
I sink low and rise high
You’ll never really die
I try to say goodbye

–leah r chatterjee

Leave a Reply

