I still can’t shake the feeling

that I was born in the wrong time and place

All of the glances I’ve been stealing

just simple glimpses of my own face

These small slivers of sunlight that spill

through cracks between the leaves

Stabbing brightness, but all is still

Tugging gently at my sleeves.

The eerie blue of the LED lights

and my breath on the window pane

the echo of friendly fights

a crumpled origami crane…

Creative bursts left in piles

scattered ’round the room

Just remembered smiles

that somehow escaped the broom.

And Autumn whispers sad reminders in my ears

“Winter’s coming, light is fading, let go of all your fears.”

Words like “crisp,” and “longing,” pass from many lips

and cider seeps in through slurps and greedy sips.

I do not mind the moon as it is brightly calling

I dread the landing, but can enjoy the falling.

–Leah Ruthe Chatterjee

Leave a Reply

