twenty-four

I still remember the blood sometimes

but I only see and feel it in my dreams

I can still hear your music playing

even behind my wrenching screams

Twenty-four was three lifetimes ago

before I knew about pain

My knuckles knew before I did

that I would never be the same

I still have dreams about loving you

they just keep on replaying

an imprint of you that stays in my soul

a firmly rooted tree that is always swaying

And though I know that you will never be

the way you were that time

I won’t forget the rocks by the river

that night that you were mine

And while I’ll always move forward

to wherever I’m headed to

I will never fully forget

or truly let go of you.

leah r. chatterjee

Leave a Reply

