that little light

Last night I felt just like that little magnolia tree
Just a small, wispy thing without much root in the ground
I swayed a little precariously
Squeezing tightly the small pebbles my best friend found
And somewhere in the darkness there
Some small light sought me out and found me
Just a little glimmer of a shining thing
It wrapped its tiny rays all the way around me
And just like that baby magnolia, who never did fall down
Even when the heavy winds were blowing
That little light crept into me and settled down
reminding me that I, too, will keep on growing.
–leah ruthe chatterjee

Leave a Reply

