Autumn falling down again

trapped inside of a room for months
practically tied to my bed
a breeze blew through my window today
and suddenly October arrived
subtle sounds of the school bus braking at the corner
sweaters being pulled out of the backs of closets
whispers of hallow’s eve approaching
urges for apple picking and cider sipping
that funny feeling behind my bellybutton
autumn is falling down on me
calling me out to see
leaves blushing
giggles rustling
decorations bustling
the waxing moon shines brighter
and the stars get bolder
by the time the breeze was over
I forget the solemn summer
throw my lips into a smile
and welcome autumn
falling down on me.

Leah Ruthe

Leave a Reply

