translucent memory

you are nothing but a ghost to me now

you have become so translucent somehow

so sad and useless the way things unfolded

I broke out of that shell you had molded

suddenly the pain in my chest is gone

and numbness absorbs all else that may come

you were never so honest as when you were lying

worst of all when you’d pretend to be trying

but….

these days happiness is creeping into my mind

and I found peace in the things I had left behind

at the end of the day I might be alone

unprotected from things to which I am prone

I find comfort in truth:

you are nothing but a ghost to me now

so sad and completely translucent somehow…

leah ruthe

Leave a Reply

